All set for 2023 at the Cultural Plaza

The TTI Milwaukee Hong Kong Squash Open 2023 will be held from late Nov to early Dec, with Semi-finals and Finals taking place in Xiqu Centre, West Kowloon Cultural District.

Organized by Squash Association of Hong Kong, China, sole title-sponsored by TTI Milwaukee, the prestigious “TTI Milwaukee Hong Kong Squash Open 2023” is confirmed to the stage from 27th November to 3rd December at Hong Kong Squash Centre and Cultural Plaza of Xiqu Centre, West Kowloon District.

The tournament is listed as one of the Platinum events, which is the highest-ranked tournament level of the PSA World Tour. The “TTI Milwaukee Hong Kong Squash Open 2023” is proud of being an “M” Mark event that helps enhance the image of Hong Kong as Asia’s sports event capital. The “M” Mark awarded by the Major Sports Events Committee, symbolizing intense, spectacular and signature event in the territory sports calendar.

The tournament offers a hefty winning purse of US$380,000 (HK$2.96 million) and it will feature 48 players in both Men’s and Women’s draw.

Men’s World #1, Ali Farag of Egypt, 2017 & 2018 runner-up and World #2, Diego Elias from Peru, will be the top and second seed of the event, while the defending champion from Egypt, Mostafa Asal and the four-time winner, Mohamed ElShorbagy from England are the third and fourth seeds. Asian Games Men’s Team Bronze medallist, World #47 Alex Lau will join the battlefield along with two wildcards, his Asian Games teammates Henry Leung and Tang Ming Hong.

The Women’s top three seeds are all from Eypgt, including World #1 and last year’s runner-up Nour El Sherbini, 2016 champion Nouran Gohar and defending champion Hania El Hammamy. 2018 champion, Joelle King from New Zealand will once again join the event as the fourth seed. The home challenge will be headed by the core members of the Asian Games Women’s Team Silver medallists – World #28 Ho Tze Lok, World #41 Tong Tsz Wing and newly crowned HK Champion Lee Ka Yi. They will join the tournament with two wild cards, Asian Games Women’s Singles Silver medallist Chan Sin Yuk and upcoming player Cheng Nga Ching.

The Honorable Duncan Chiu, Chairman of Squash Association of Hong Kong, China attended the opening ceremony along with the honorable guests including Mr. Sam Wong, MH, Commissioner for Sport, Culture, Sports, and Tourism Bureau, Mr. Wilfred Ng Sau Kei, GBS, MH, JP, Chairman of Major Sports Events Committee, Mr. Stephan Horst Pudwill, Vice Chairman of Techtronic Industries Company Limited and other sponsors representatives to give their supports and anticipation for the tournament.

The opening stages and quarter-finals of the tournament will take place at the Hong Kong Squash Centre on Cotton Tree Drive in Admiralty, with a new glass court set up for the first time at the Cultural Plaza, Xiqu Centre, West Kowloon for Semi-finals and Finals. Tickets will be available from 30 October at the Squash Association of Hong Kong, China Office

TTI Milwaukee Kog Kong Squash Open 2023 : Round One Draws

Update : [4] Joelle King w/d injured … check the DRAWS page for the latest 

Men’s Draw

[1] Ali Farag (EGY) bye
Aly Abou Eleinen (EGY) v Shahjahan Khan (USA)
Patrick Rooney (ENG) v Charlie Lee (ENG)
[9/16] Miguel Rodriguez (COL) bye

Omar Mosaad (EGY) v David Baillargeon (CAN)
[9/16] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) bye
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v Raphael Kandra (GER)
[6] Mazen Hesham (EGY) bye

[8] Tarek Momen (EGY) bye
Iker Pajares (ESP) v Yahya Elnawasany (EGY)
Saurav Ghosal (IND) v [WC] Tang Ming Hong (HKG)
Fares Dessouky (EGY) bye

Dimitri Steinmann (SUI) v Rory Stewart (SCO)
[9/16] Youssef Soliman (EGY) bye
Youssef Ibrahim (EGY) v [WC] Henry Leung (HKG)
[3] Mostafa Asal (EGY) bye

[4] Mohamed ElShorbagy (ENG) bye
Baptiste Masotti (FRA) v Timothy Brownell (USA)
Adrian Waller (ENG) v Ramit Tandon (IND)
Greg Lobban (SCO) v Leandro Romiglio (ARG)

Auguste Dussourd v Faraz Khan (USA)
[9/16] Joel Makin (WAL) bye
[9/16] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY) bye
[7] Marwan ElShorbagy (ENG) bye

[5] Paul Coll (NZL) bye
Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) v Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA)
Abdulla  Al Tamimi (QAT) v Tsz Kwan Lau (HKG)
[9/16] Victor Crouin (FRA) bye

Gregoire Marche v Nick Wall (ENG)
[9/16] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) bye
Nathan Lake v Karim El Hammamy (EGY)
[2] Diego Elias (PER) bye

Women’s Draw

[1] Nour El Sherbini (EGY) bye
Fayrouz Aboelkheir (EGY) v Mariam Metwally (EGY)
Tomato Ho (HKG) v [WC] Chan Sin Yuk (HKG)
Jasmine Hutton (ENG) v Nour Aboulmakarim (EGY)

Tesni Evans (WAL) bye
Satomi Watanabe (JPN) bye
Lucy Beecroft (ENG) v Kenzy Ayman (EGY)
[6] Nele Gilis (BEL) bye

[5] Amanda Sobhy (USA) bye
Nada Abbas (EGY) v Nicole Bunyan (CAN)
Katie Malliff (ENG) v Grace Gear (ENG)
Lucy Turmel (ENG) v Lee Ka Yi Lee (HKG)

Hollie Naughton (CAN) v Enora Villard (FRA)
[9/16] Salma Hany (EGY) bye
Amina Orfi (EGY) v Zeina Mickawy (EGY)
[4] Joelle King (NZL) bye

[3] Hania El Hammamy (EGY) bye
Sana Ibrahim (EGY) v Tong Tsz-Wing (HKG)
Melissa Alves (FRA) v Salma Eltayeb (EGY)
[9/16] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) bye

Hana Ramadan (EGY) v Rachel Arnold (MAS)
Siva Subramaniam (MAS) v Hana Moataz (EGY)
[9/16] Olivia Clyne (USA) bye
[8] Olivia Fiechter (USA) bye

[7] Gina Kennedy (ENG) bye
[9/16] Tinne Gilis (BEL) bye
[9/16] Rowan Elaraby (EGY) bye
Nadine Shahin (EGY) v [WC] Cheng Nga Ching (HKG)

Emily Whitlock (WAL) v Marie Stephan (FRA)
Aifa Azman (MAS) v Georgia Adderley (SCO)
[9/16] Sabrina Sobhy (USA) bye
[2] Nouran Gohar (EGY) bye