Draw Update : Farag among Men’s withdrawals

Men’s World No.1 and top seed Ali Farag has unfortunately been forced to withdraw from the upcoming Everbright Securities International Hong Kong Squash Open 2022 taking place in just four days time.

Farag, a two-time runner-up in Hong Kong, has not recovered from the knee injury that he sustained at the U.S. Open in October which forced him to retire early in the final.

View the full draws

New Zealand’s Paul Coll is now the top seed for the event but stays at the bottom of the draw. Peru’s Diego Elias is now the second seed and takes Farag’s spot, where he will play the winner of Egypt’s Mohamed ElSherbini or wildcard Tang Ming Hong in round two.

Grasshopper Cup Champion Mostafa Asal will move to third seed and will play the winner of Mexico’s Leonel Cardenas or England’s Curtis Malik in the second round after receiving a bye in the first round.

9/16 seed Baptiste Masotti has withdrawn from the event meaning that Egypt’s Moustafa El Sirty now moves into his position to play England’s Patrick Rooney in round two.

English 17/32 seeds George Parker and Declan James have both been forced to withdraw therefore compatriot Nick Wall replaces Parker and faces Argentina’s Leandro Romiglio in round one. Malaysia’s Ivan Yuen replaces James in the top 32 and will play Farkas Balazs in the opening round.

Egypt’s Khaled Labib, Germany’s Yannick Omlor, Malaysia’s Mohd Syafiq Kamal and Martin Svec have all been awarded late entries into the Platinum event and play 17/32 seeds Auguste Dussourd, Aly Abou Eleinen, Yahya Elnawasany and Dimitri Steinmann.

Earlier in November Todd Harrity, Fares Dessouky and Gregoire Marche all withdrew from the original draw.

Updated Men's First Round Draw
[2] Diego Elias (PER) Bye
[17/32] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY) v [WC] Tang Ming Hong (HKG)
[9/16] Patrick Rooney (ENG) Bye
[9/16] Moustafa El Sirty (EGY) Bye

[17/32] Auguste Dussourd (FRA) v Khaled Labib (EGY)
[17/32] Bernat Jaume (ESP) v Rory Stewart (SCO)
[17/32] Rui Soares (POR) v David Baillargeon (CAN)
[8] Youssef Soliman (EGY) Bye

[6] Mazen Hesham (EGY) Bye
[17/32] Karim El Hammamy (EGY) v [WC] Chi Him Wong (HKG)
[17/32] Henry Leung (HKG) v Juan Camilo Vargas (COL)
[9/16] Iker Pajares (ESP) Bye

[9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) Bye
[17/32] Ivan Yuen (MAS) v Balazs Farkas (HUN)
[9/16] Eain Yow Ng (MAS) Bye
[4] Mohamed ElShorbagy (ENG) Bye

[3] Mostafa Asal (EGY) Bye
[17/32] Leonel Cardenas (MEX) v Curtis Malik (ENG)
[17/32] Yahya Elnawasany (EGY) v Mohd Syafiq Kamal (MAS)
[9/16] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) Bye

[17/32] Aly Abou Eleinen (USA) v Yannick Omlor (GER)
[17/32] Faraz Khan (USA) v Christopher Gordon (USA)
[17/32] Nick Wall (ENG) v Leandro Romiglio (ARG)
[7] Victor Crouin (FRA) Bye

[5] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) Bye
[17/32] Dimitri Steinmann (SUI) v Martin Svec (CZE)
[9/16] Shahjahan Khan (USA) Bye
[17/32] Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA) v Timothy Brownell (USA)

[17/32] Mazen Gamal (EGY) v Tsz Kwan Lau (HKG)
[17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO) v Charlie Lee (ENG)
[9/16] Miguel Rodriguez (COL) Bye
[1] Paul Coll (NZL) Bye